August Favorites

Hey guys!
(íslenska)

Another month gone, and we’re coming into the best time of year in my opinion. Fall and winter are my absolute favorite seasons. As much as I love summer it doesn’t give me the tingling sensation I get in my stomach when I think about the cold months. There’s something so cozy and great about them. I truly pity those who live in the places of the world where they don’t get to experience proper seasons.

But there’ll be plenty of time to talk about that over the next few months (and then plenty of time to complain about it in the months after that) so let’s get on the top five things of August.

wp-1472915631326.jpg
Maybelline Dream Fresh BB Cream. Now, I won’t lie and say it’s something spectacular, but I needed a BB cream and this one is both cheap and great. It’s very light coverage, and everything I look for in a lighter product like this. I love to just throw something like this on my face in the warmer months.

wp-1472915697019.jpgLA Splash Liquid Lipstick in Venom. OK. Let me tell you. Liquid lipsticks are the bomb (yeah ok I know, late on the bandwagon). To be honest, I always suspected liquid lipsticks would be right up my allay, but last year I was doing the whole “starving student” thing, so I was lucky I had enough cash to replace my mascara when it ran out, I wasn’t about to splurge on new lipstick. The tables have turned, and I finally tried my first liquid lipstick. The LA Splash formula is so great, it’s really drying, so if that bother’s you you might want to stay away, but it dries so beautifully and matte, and it lasts for – evar. And of course I went for a black. I might just write an entire post about black lipstick, so I don’t have to talk more than I already have here.

wp-1472915760770.jpgHouse of Lashes Bambi lashes. These are so much fun. They’re very very long and dramatic, but their shape makes them easier to wear with any kind of eyelook, whereas with other super dramatic lashes you might need to do a dramatic look to match them. I’ve been wearing these at any chance I get.

wp-1472915811765.jpgNYX Soft Matte Lip cream in Cannes. Now, this one is a slightly newer addition to my collection, but I’ve been wearing it so much I thought it deserved a spot in the monthly favorites. This is a different take of the liquid lipstick. These are, as the name suggests, softer, not drying at all in fact, but still dry to a nice finish, matte, if a bit creamier than the LA Splash. This is a great pinky, mauve, dark nude (on my skin tone, would easily be nuder on darker skin tones), very easy to wear.

wp-1472914357448.jpg
Finally we have this very cute jacket from Zara. It’s from the Zara Basic’s collection, and it is just that, very basic. I bought it because there was a gap in my wardrobe for a lighter jacket for those warmer Norwegian summer and early fall days, that I really didn’t experience a lot of in Iceland, and it’s met my needs perfectly. Great purchase and you get to enjoy my awkward posing (I’m still getting a hang of these outfit photoshoots). Win/win.

These were my top five products of August! Let me know some of the things you’ve been loving for this last official month of summer.

Until next time,
Margrét

download43-twitter-48bloglovin-icon24-snapchat-128

Hæ vinir!

Ágúst er fallinn okkur úr greipum og haustið komið. Þrátt fyrir að mér þyki tíminn vera að líða óþarflega hratt þá lýg ég því ekki að ég er spennt fyrir næstu mánuðum. Haustið og veturinn eru nefnilega mínar uppáhalds árstíðir. Sérstaklega veturinn, ja, allaveganna fram í desember. Janúar-mars eru ekkert í uppáhaldi ég viðurkenni það alveg.

En nóg um það, ég á sennilegast eftir að ræða þessa ást mína á köldu mánuðunum meira síðar.
Í dag skulum við skoða hverjar voru uppáhalds vörurnar mínar í ágúst.

wp-1472915631326.jpgFyrsta varan er þetta Maybelline Dream Fresh BB krem. Mjög fínt, ódýrt BB krem, sem gefur mér það sem ég vil fá úr BB kremi. Þetta gefur mjög létta þekju, og er ekki að fara að fela neitt eitthvað sérstaklega vel. En áferðin er mjög létt og þægileg og það gefur andlitinu mínu smávegis lit. Ótrúlega þægilegt og fljótlegt í notkun og akkúrat svona vara sem ég fýla um heitari mánuðina.

wp-1472915697019.jpgLA Splash Liquid Lipstick í litnum Venom. Ég veit, og líklega þú líka, að svona fljótandi formúlur á varalitum hafa verið allstaðar síðasta svona árið eða svo, og ég er bara fyrst að hoppa á lestina núna. Eða reyndar hef ég verið á lestinni allan tímann í draumum mínum. En ég gerði drauminn loks að veruleika nýlega, og að sjálfsögðu valdi ég svartann. Ég hugsa að ég skrifi heila færslu um svartann varalit svo ég skrifi ekki óvar heila bók í þessari færslu. Formúlan frá þessum framleiðanda LA Splash er mjög góð að mínu mati. Þeir eru með þeim meira þurrkandi fljótandi varalitum (þótt þeir séu flestir smáveigis þurrkandi) á markaðinum, svo ef að það er ekki fyrir þig þá viltu kannski leita annað, en þeir þorna ótrúlega fallega mattir og endast endalaust á vörunum.

wp-1472915760770.jpgHouse of Lashes augnhár í stílnum Bambi. Þessi augnhár eru ótrúlega skemmtileg. Þau eru löng og dramatísk en skemmtileg í laginu svo hægt er að nota þau með nánast hvaða augnlúkki sem er. Ég hef notað þau við hvert tækifæri sem ég hef fudið mér.

wp-1472915811765.jpgNYX Soft Matte Lip Cream í litnum Cannes. Þetta er auðruvísi útgáfa af fljótandi varalitum. Þessir eru kremaðari og mýkri og mjög þægilegir á vörunum, þar á móti endast þeir ekki jafn vel og t.d. LA splash. Þessi litur er líka mjög fallegur, bleiktóna, dekkri nude litur sem er ótrúlega létt að nota. Þrátt fyrir að þessi sé tiltölulega nýr í safninu hef ég notað hann svo mikið að mér þótti rétt að hafa hann með í safninu.

wp-1472914357448.jpgAð lokum er það svo þessi fallegi, einfaldi, bleiki(!) jakki úr Zara. Mjög léttur og þægilegur og akkúrat það sem mig vantaði í fataskápinn minn, en mig vantaði einmitt svona léttann jakka til að henda yfir mig á hlýrri haustdögunum hér úti. Þar sem að flest annað í fataskápnum mínum er svart þótti mér skemmtilegt að fá mér jakka í lit til þess að poppa aðeins upp hvaða lúkk sem er.

Þar hafið þið öll uppáhöldin mín í ágúst (og vandræðalegar pósur, bara fyrir ykkur!).

Þar til næst,
Margrét

download43-twitter-48bloglovin-icon24-snapchat-128

Leave a comment