An (Unfair) Mascara Battle

Hey guys!
(íslenska)

I hope you’ve had a good Easter (or you know, weekend, if you don’t celebrate Easter). It’s been a great weekend for me, super relaxing and filled with chocolate. And the weather’s been great which I’m so excited about.

Let’s talk about mascaras! These two in particular:

img_20160327_205701.jpg

I’ve been using these two mascaras for the last couple of months, Max Factor Masterpiece Glamour Extensions and Maybelline The Falsies Push Up Drama and I wanted to do a bit of a review on them.

img_20160327_205623.jpg

I’ve been using the Max Factor one for longer than the Maybelline one, in fact it’s all dried up now (moment of silence), but in essence I think they’re very similar and neither is the best mascara I’ve tried. They’re both rather clumping especially when they’re new. I liked the Max Factor one A LOT more when it started to dry up a bit, and even though I haven’t had the Maybelline one for that long I’m already starting to like it more than when I first tried it, because to be honest I pretty much hated it at first.
I’m more of a length and separation, fanned out lashes kind of girl, but I like a bit of volume thrown in there (don’t we just want it all?), and when these are more dried out they’re less clumpy and do the job quite well.
However I always(!) manage to smudge both of them everywhere when I’m applying. That might just be me though.

img_20160327_204704.jpg

I prefer the wand on the Maybelline one, which is way more traditional. They’re both plastic wands but the Max Factor one is the weirdest one I’ve ever seen and I’m not the biggest fan. I’m also just a bigger fan of the Maybelline packaging in general, it’s so cute.
As of right now, I’ve only been using the Maybelline for a couple of weeks and I’ve used the Max Factor for much longer, so I’ve been able to get the Max Factor to make my lashes look pretty much how I want them so I have to say I prefer that one. Though that might very well change when I’ve used the Maybelline for longer. One thing I will say for the Maybelline is that it does give the lashes more lift.

So those are my words on these two mascaras! While not my favorite I think they’d be great for anyone who likes a quick fix of volume.

 

Hæ vinir!

Vonandi hafið þið haft góða páska og eruð tilbúin í nýja törn! 

Í dag langaði mig að tala um tvo maskara sem ég er búin að vera að nota síðustu nokkra mánuði: Max Factor Masterpiece Glamour Extensions og Maybelline The Falsies Push Up Drama (sjá myndir hér að ofan).

Ég hef notað Max Factor maskarann nokkuð mikið lengur en Maybelline maskarann svo að ég kann aðeins betur á hann, en mér finnst þeir báðir mjög svipaðir. Ég var ekki hrifin af þeim til að byrja með, af því að þeir klessa augnhárin mjög mikið saman þegar þeir eru nýjir og blautir, en þegar formúlan þornaði aðeins fór ég að fýla báða betur. Ég er hrifnari af lengingar maskörum sem greiða vel úr augnhárunum en gefa líka smá þykkingu og þegar þessir hættu að klessast jafn mikið voru þeir að gera þetta aðeins betur fyrir mig, en eru þó ekki uppáhöldin mín. 
Ég næ samt alltaf (!) að klessa þeim út um allt andlit þegar ég set þá á, en kannski er ég bara ömurleg í að setja á mig maskara haha

Ég fýla greiðuna (og reyndar bara umbúðiranr í heild sinni) á Maybelline maskaranum mun betur en Max Factor greiðuna sem er mjög skrítin í laginu. En samt sem áður fýla ég Max Factor maskarann sjálfann aðeins betur eins og er EN ég hef notað hann töluvert lengur en Maybelline maskarann svo kannski læri ég að elska hann.

Þótt að þessir maskarar séu kannski ekki uppáhöldin mín og mér finnist þeir frekar pirrandi fyrst, þá eru þeir frábærir fyrir þá sem vilja bara fljótlega þykkingu.

Until next time,
Margrét

download43-twitter-48bloglovin-icon24-snapchat-128

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Love this title 🙂 Great review and great blog, follow for follow?

    1. Margrét says:

      Thanks! I love your blog 🙂

  2. kaiesha stewart says:

    I’m the exact same when it comes to the Falsies mascara. Initially, I found it too clumping and it just frustrates me. I still find it annoyingly clumping at times but it’s much better than it was initially!
    http://kaieshastewart.wordpress.com

    1. Margrét says:

      Yeah! I could hardly use it at first I would get so frustrated about it! Thanks for reading 😀

  3. I’ve just purchased the Maybelline one so I’m excited to try it now, but thanks for the warning about how you like it better now than you did at first. As I’m definitely the type of person to just stop using it rather than trying it again and again

Leave a Reply

