Blog of Year Past and Year to Come

Hey everyone and happy new year!!!!
(íslenska)
I hope everyone had a great new years eve and celebrated the new and old in good company.

It’s been a year since I revamped my blog, started blogging more consistently and in English and like last year I thought I’d start the year of by doing a little revamp of the blog again(more on that later) and a review of my 2015 and sharing some of my goals and expectations for 2016.

2015 was, to say the least, an eventful year. In January I spontaneously moved from Iceland to Norway, simply looking for a bit of a change. I spent the next few months getting some real and good quality time with my finance Alex and it taught the both of us to appreciate our relationship. Even though we were stronger than ever as a team outside our relationship things weren’t the best. Everyone suffers hardships and I’ll admit that 2015 hasn’t been the easiest for either of us. However the first part of the year had some highlights mainly when we got our kitty in March and in May when I went back to Iceland for a really lovely visit for my sister’s confirmation. Things weren’t really moving in our lives though so in April I took the plunge and applied to a university here in Steinkjer to study something called multimediatechnology and to sum it up is pretty much everything your could ever need to know about media making – specifically film making – and I’ve now decided to specialize in 3D and Visual Effects.
Long story short, I got accepted and in August we took another plunge and moved again so I could start school. It’s been an amazing experience, I’ve stepped outside my comfort zone many times and I’ve learned so much being here. I took the concious decision before I started this study that if I was doing this there would be no point in doing it less than 100% and it’s been hard but I’ve committed and it’s been so rewarding. I know everyone always says you should apply yourself, do your best, do everything 100%, but there’s a reason they say it: it’s true. It’s the only way you’ll enjoy what you’re doing to the fullest ability. The rewards will follow if you apply yourself, you’ll have more confidence and feel better about yourself.
Moving has not been free of struggles, but I wouldn’t trade it for anything and I’m free of regrets.

That being said I always like pushing myself to be a better version of myself and I’m all about fresh starts. Sometimes I even secretly like Mondays because it’s like pushing a mini refresh button. Every day is an opportunity to do better than the day before in whatever aspect you want to be better. The most important thing to remember is that it’s OK. Everything is OK. You won’t die even though you ate that whole bag of chips. Just maybe don’t eat a whole bag of chips every single day. You overslept and had to skip breakfast? It’s OK. You fucked up at work? It’s OK. The world’s not going to end. You can do better tomorrow, next week, next month, next year. And then you can do worse again. And it’s STILL OK.

So with that out of the way I’d like to talk about some goals I’ve set myself for 2016.

  1. Continue applying myself to my fullest ability in school
    This includes official school work, but also drawing more and exercising my creative abilities and pushing myself to attend more social gatherings connected to school
  2. Continue to push myself with a healthier lifestyle.
    Last year I did pretty well with this: everything in moderation, until I started school when I fell of the bandwagon. Fresh start!
  3. Every month put aside some money until I can afford a good camera. Then buy a camera. When I’ve bought a camera, find a new thing I want to save money for and do it.
  4. Continue working on my organization skills.
    I’ve found that physically writing everything down helps me stay on track for things I need to do and just stay on top of my thoughts. In 2015 I only just dipped my toes into this and I want to do more as to utilize all my abilities to the fullest.
  5. Be positive – do my best – live in the moment – life goes on

As for changes on the blog there are a few things I want to incorporate. I want to continue blogging about beauty and fashion and things like that as I enjoy them a lot. I just want to push myself to make the content better, which is where buying the camera comes in. I also want to start incorporating more of my own work in here, share a look inside my journals and sketch books and when possible school work. I also want to start writing in Icelandic again (don’t worry I’ll keep the English).
So the blog will be a little bit more personal, but hopefully lot’s of fun.

I hope everyone has an amazing 2016!


Hæ vinir og velkomin á bloggið mitt.
Fyrst og fremst: gleðilegt nýtt ár!

Ég er búin að vera að blogga “almennilega” af og á í eitt ár en hef ekki verið að auglýsa það mikið. Ég var bara ekki alveg viss hvað mig langaði að gera með bloggið og eyddi fyrsta árinu í að finna bloggröddina aðeins. En nú er mikið skemmtilegt að gerast í lífinu mínu, í skólanum og svona, og mig er farið að langa að deila því með fleirum. Ég mun sennilega halda áfram að blogga mest á ensku en héðan í frá mun ég alltaf skrifa á íslensku líka hér fyrir neðan.

2015 var svo sannarlega viðburðaríkt. Ég byrjaði árið á að flytja í algjörri blindni til Noregs sem var spennandi en erfitt. Lífið gekk ekkert rosalega vel fyrstu mánuðina og við Alex vorum í mikilli óvissu. En það voru svo sannarlega góðir punktar, við höfum eytt rosalega miklum tíma saman og lært að meta hvort annað, við fengum okkur kisu sem veitir okkur mikla gleði og svo var auðvitað æðislegt að fá að fara í heimsókn heim að hitta allt fólkið mitt í maí. En það var ekki mikið að gerast hjá okkur svo þegar ég sá HINT (sem heitir nú Nord Universitet) auglýsa námið í margmiðlunartækni ákvað ég að slá til og sótti um. Eins og þið vitið flest komst ég þar inn, svo að í ágúst fluttum við aftur og nú upp í miðjan Noreg til Steinkjer.
Skólinn hefur verði ótrúlega góður. Ég ákvað að nú skildi ég loksins leggja mig alla fram í það sem ég er að gera og ég hef staðið við það og þrátt fyrir að það sé stundum erfitt og ég hafi stigið margoft fyrir utan þægindarammann þá hefur þetta verið svo gefandi reynsla og ég hef lært svo mikið. Þrátt fyrir að lífið utan skólans hafi verið svolítið erfitt á tímum þá hefur þessi reynsla verið æðisleg og ég sé ekki eftir neinu.

En 2015 var alls ekki mitt besta ár og ég er staðráðin í að 2016 verði betra. Ég er mikið að ýta mér í að vera betri í dag en í gær og ég elska allar nýjar byrjanir (jafnvel mánudaga stundum!), þær gefa manni tækifæri til að gera betur.
Þótt maður sé alltaf að reyna að vera betri má ekki gleyma að það er allt í lagi að gera ekki eins vel og maður vildi. Enginn er fullkominn. Það er allt í lagi að borða heilan snakkpoka, svo lengi sem það er ekki á hverjum degi. Ekki láta þér líða illa yfir hlutum og ekki neita þér um neitt. Munum að allt er gott í hófi og mikilvægast er að okkur líði vel. Þú getur alltaf gert betur og svo geturu alltaf gert verr og bæði er allt í lagi.

Ég hef sett mér nokkur markmið fyrir árið 2016. Hlutir sem ég vill vinna í með sjálfri mér til að verða betri útgáfa af mér.

  1. Halda áfram að leggja mig fram í skólanum. Bæði í sjálfum skólanum og að teikna meira utan skóla og rækta skapandi hæfileika mína þannig. Ég vil líka vera duglegari að mæta á skólatengda viðburði.
  2. Halda áfram að reyna að lifa heilsusamlega. Fyrri part af árinu 2015 gekk mér ágætlega með þetta og að gera allt í hófi, en þegar ég byrjaði í skólanum fór ég aðeins út af veginum. En eins og ég segi þá er það í lagi, ég get gert betur núna.
  3. Leggja fyrir smá pening í hverjum mánuði þar til ég á nóg til að kaupa mér góða myndavél. Þegar ég hef keypt myndavél finna mér þá eitthvað annað sem mig langar í og safna mér fyrir því.
  4. Vinna í skipulagshæfileikum mínum. Ég hef komist að því að það að skrifa hlutina niður hjálpar mér gífurlega. Bæði í að vera með á hreinu hvað þarf að gera og bara að koma hugsunum mínum á hreint.
  5. Vera jákvæð – gera mitt besta – lifa í núinu – lífið heldur áfram

Á blogginu ætla ég að vera duglegari að deila hlutum sem ég sjálf er að vinna í – sem og að halda áfram að deila veraldlegum hlutum sem mér finnst gaman að tala um 😉 – deila síðum úr skissubókinni minni og jafnvel skólaverkefnum.

Jæja þá segi ég komið gott af þessari ofsafærslu, takk fyrir að lesa!
Ég vona að allir eigi frábært 2016!

Until next time,
Margrét

Leave a Reply

