A Dramatic New Year – Silver Smokey

Hey guys!
I hope everyone has had an amazing holiday filled with eating and sofa cuddles with your loved ones, I know I have.

I know it was just Christmas, but I still sort of can’t believe that 2015 is coming to an end, can you? But more about that later, there is a sappy new years post coming to you early in January, don’t worry *insert wink emoji here*.
But first! One hell of a party to celebrate another year survived.

I love new years eve, and I especially love all the glitter and drama. Even though, knowing me, I’ll probably end up going for the classic glittery look on new years but I wanted to explore some options and maybe give you guys some inspiration along the way so I created this silver smokey look.

image
(And you guys know me, could I really go without the drama of a dark lip? no.)

imageThese are some of the products I used.

To start of the eyes I used a black Kohl liner as a base, putting it all over the lid and blending it up. Then I used a variety of purple shades from my Morphe 35W (depicted below) to blend everything out smoothly and deepen the outer corner. Next I packed the silver shade from the 35W onto the eyelid. On the lower lashline I used all the same purples and the Kohl liner to smoke everything out nicely. I also put a bit of the silver on the inner third. In the inner corner I used the shimmery shade from this gorgeous Chanel quad. A bit of mascara and Tanya Burr’s Bambi Eyes eyelashes completed this eyelook.
image.

image

On my face I simply used a Smashbox primer because I want my makeup to last all night and then the YSL Fusion Ink (Le Teint Encre de Peau) foundation, which I love but is way too dark for me at the moment (let’s ignore that I really wanted to use it), my L’Oreal True Match concealer and a subtle contour and highlight because I thought this look was quite dramatic enough.

On my lips is MAC’s Dark Side.

image

So that’s the look! A nice fun classic smokey for a (hopefully) smashing New Years Eve party! What are your makeup plans for the big night?

I hope you’ve had a fantastic 2015 and will have an even better 2016!
Until next time,
Margrét

 

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. perksofbeingleah says:

    Love this look!

    1. Margrét says:

      Thank you so much!

      1. perksofbeingleah says:

        You’re welcome X

Leave a Reply

