Checking in on my new years resolutions

Capture

Happy July! Can you believe it’s already July? I can’t. This year has been the quickest one yet.

I thought that now, half way through the year, would be a good time to check up on my new year’s resolutions. Have I done them? Have I even worked at all to accomplish them? Did I just write something down on an impulse and left it there to rot?
Let’s find out!

Check out the original post here.

  • No more soda. I’ve cut soda out of my diet before and it really makes a difference in how I feel. I don’t really know why I started drinking it again.

Well. I’ve definitely lessened the amount I’ve been drinking. And if I’m getting it I try to keep it at carbonated water. But I could definitely be harder on myself with this. A lot harder. Hard as it may be to live with Pepsi addicts, I can’t let that be my downfall. I am stronger than that. Soda isn’t even that nice and Pepsi definitely isn’t. Picking this back up majorly.

  • Study yoga. I experimented with yoga a little in 2014 and I just really think that it’s my kind of exercise and I want to take it further.

Still not doing much more than basic experiments. It’s more than nothing though and I know I’ll continue on this path.

  • Keep focusing on good skin, hair and nail care. Keeping with the cleansing route, to feel and look good from inside out. It’s no secret that taking good care of yourself, not only makes you look better, but also feel better (at least it does me). Healthy skin/hair/nails = pretty skin/hair/nails = happy nerd.

Now here’s something I’ve been good about! Especially hair care. Good job Margrét.

  • I wanted to say to take more baths. But I know that I’m moving into a bath-less apartment (the horror) and staying there for probably majority of the year. So instead I’m keeping it at more pampering sessions. Nights where I use a hair mask, face mask, body scrub, the works! It just makes me feel so good and I can properly relax.

While I have been having quite a few pamper sessions I don’t know whether I’m having more than I did last year. However I am feeling quite happy, content and de-stressed anyway, so maybe that’s not important. 

  • De-clutter my life. I’m a notorious “random bits and pieces collector”. As well as a notorious mess maker and very quite unorganized. I’m going to try to work on all of these things and luckily I have a very good opportunity to do just that with the moving. I’m going to be quite hard on myself when packing, leaving a lot of stuff in storage and even throwing a lot of stuff away (that’s a big step for me). Then when I do get to Norway I’m organizing everything straight away. Avoid the “oh I’ll just put this here temporarily.” That sh*t will become permanent! I short: keep my environment clutter free for a stress free nerd.

So. I got rid of some stuff and then got some new stuff to replace it. However I’m not sure if I’m in a place to judge as I moved to a much smaller space this year. In August (only a month away!) I’ll be moving again to an apartment of my own (and my boyfriend’s) where I will not allow myself to hoard more than I already have. I have enough.

  • Read more books. I got a kindle for Christmas which I am ecstatic about. I’ve always been a reader but in resent years I’ve been reading less and less of stuff that was not mandatory for school (and fanfiction, I did read quite a bit of fanfiction). But, books!

Done and done! Double whoop for Margrét. Admittedly the bar wasn’t set high as I was hardly ever reading, but I’m happy to say I’ve read a good amount of books this year! 

  • Meet more people. Leave my comfort zone when it comes to making friends. In the last two places I’ve lived I haven’t been doing this. I’ve met a lot of great people, for example my classmates in Kvennó who I love to death, but I haven’t been making the effort to make proper friends (ok that sounds like the friends I have made aren’t proper friends, they are, but what I meant was that outside of a school environment I wasn’t meeting up with them a lot). So I want to push myself to make that extra step, to find people who share my interests and try to make connections.

So I haven’t done this. No excuses, really, just letting my social anxiety dictate me. I’m going for university in the fall, and whilst I’m nervous I am also happy to have such a good opportunity to push myself out of my comfort zone. Let’s go!

  • Make more memories and take more pictures. I really should say, document more memories. And that’s where this blog comes in. I’ve decided to start fresh, and move it to English so that more people can read it. At some point in the year I would like to invest in a nice camera. This blog will then be one of my platforms to keep my memories (and all the random stuff).

Well, I do think that I’ve been doing an OK job blogging. I could always do better but I’m pretty happy with my process so far. What I am not happy with is my lack of personal photos. I’m just not the happiest with my mobile devices’s cameras. I really should still be taking photos. 

If I do say so myself I think I’ve done quite well for myself so far this year, and I only have more good and exciting things coming up.

Did you set yourself any new years resolutions? How are you doing? Why not check up on them and make sure you stay on track?

Thanks for reading!

Until next time,
Margrét

Leave a Reply

