Top 5 healthy breakfasts

Finally, finally I’m getting this post up. I’ve been planning it for ages. Planning out my breakfasts out so that I could take photos and then when the mornings come, being lazy and having cereal or toast. But I managed it. Finally.

Breakfast is (say it with me) the most important meal of the day. We’ve all heard it. Loads and loads of times. And it’s true. I notice a massive difference in my entire day if I have breakfast and, man, when I have a good nutritional breakfast I feel like I can move mountains. So here are my 5 favorite healthy breakfasts, some easy and good for a quick morning and some a little more time consuming and more “luxorious”.

1. Whole wheat toast with banana.
Simple. Easy. A childhood staple that’s still with me. Just toast your whole wheat (preferably multigrain) bread, spread some butter/margarine (or you can use peanut butter if you like!! Super yummy) on the slices and slice up your banana on top. I like to have this with some more fruit (unless I’m being lazy) and sometimes I’ll have some chocolate milk with this I mean, what?

image

2. Overnight oats
You’ll be happy to know that I’ve become better at overnight oats. Lots better. And their super yummy. Their also super convenient for people like me who like to get that extra half hour of sleep. Given that I actually remembered to make these the night before. But that’s another story.
I use Greek yoghurt, oats, chia seeds, a bit of honey and banana. That’s the stable. Then most of the time I add frozen strawberries and blueberries and then sometimes I add other fruit, like mango, kiwi, pineapple, pear, apple etc.
I mix together the yoghurt, oats, seeds and honey and then layer them with the fruit in a glass jar and leave it in the fridge over night.
This gives a very thick consistency but you could add the milk of your choice or swap out the yoghurt for milk for a thinner consistency.

image

3. Banana pancakes.
Now these. Are the easiest pancakes I’ve ever made. And they’re my favorite lazy Sunday brunch type meal.
Based on these but I usually add up to a whole banana and sometimes if I want to make even more of a “proper meal” out of them I’ll add 1/2-1 cup of oats.

image

4. Toast with avocado and an egg.
My new obsession pt. 1. Toast your wholewheat toast, fry your egg, smash your avocado (I use half an avocado on a slice). Little bit of salt, bit more of pepper. Voila. OR If you’re feeling adventurous spread your favorite cream cheese on there. Add a topping of your choice. Let your imagination run wild.
Serve with fruit (10/10 would recommend).

image

5. Smoothie/smoothie bowl
My new obsession pt. 2. I was already making smoothies but I wasn’t super into drinking them anymore. So I made it into a bowl. A thicker consistency and loads of frozen ingredients made it almost like eating ice-cream. For breakfast. I’m down for that.

What I use every time (both other ingredients and how much I use are variables):
Geek yoghurt (if you have silicone icecube trays you can freeze the yoghurt for extra ice-creaminess)
Oats
Frozen banana
Frozen strawberries
Frozen blueberries

Variables (aka I will use this if I have it):
Grapes
Watermelon (if I’m not using watermelon I’ll add liquid (water, milk or even orange juice))
Other fruit (mango, kiwi, pineapple, avocado for extra creaminess if I need)
Chia seeds
Honey (only if I don’t have enough sweetener in fruit)

Blend it up and serve! My number one trick for this is to take your bowl and put it in your freezer while you take out and prepare your ingredients and blend your smoothie. A chilled bowl makes for a longer lasting ice-cream feel (and I’m down for that).
Top with whatever fruit, seeds, nuts whatever you want (optional obviously)

image

My 5 favorite breakfasts. Obviously I like to change it up, but I have definitely had stages where I’ve had the same thing for breakfast day after day after day. Which one are you? What’s your favorite breakfast? Let me know in the comments!

Until next time,
Margrét

One Comment Add yours

  1. Arielle says:

    Love your post, everything looks so delicious! ❤

Leave a Reply

